View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Guardian webmaster
Joined: Dec 25, 2005 Posts: 364 Location: Vsetin, Czech Republic
|
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:20 am Post subject: CKEditor |
|
|
You don't really need to 'port' it, thats the beauty of it.
I'm in the process of removing the tinyMCE editor on a (none *nuke) site I have and it's so easy to integrate it took me all of 2 minutes once the editor files where uploaded.
I opted to use the plain javascript API so you have to include the ckeditor.js file within your head tags then all you need to do is find your existing form text area's and add after it
opening script tag
CKEDITOR.replace( 'textareaname' );
closing script tag
Just change 'textareaname' to whatever name your current text are has.
In my case, I'm using two custom toolbars, one for users and one for admins, so for the user tool bar you just have to do
Code:CKEDITOR.replace( 'textareaname',
{
toolbar : 'UserToolbar'
});
|
There is also a jQuery API you can use too
The only thing I don't like about it is the lost facility to upload files. The 'server' browser functionality is still there but no upload from PC facility, though there are detailed how-to's on integrating a file uploader if you don't want to buy their CKFinder. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Guardian
|
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kguske Site Admin
Joined: May 12, 2005 Posts: 876
|
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
The upload feature is a show-stopper. And the instructions for integrating a file uploader aren't helpful. I spent more than a day looking at that - and all the options. I even posted an article about it... _________________ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Guardian
|
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!works quite well.
You need to use the jQuery API but implementation is basically the same as the JS API except you set the editor instance in a var
Code:
textarea name="editor1" blah blah
var ckeditor = CKEDITOR.replace('editor1');
AjexFileManager.init({
returnTo: 'ckeditor',
editor: ckeditor,
skin: 'light'
});
|
I have not tested for vulnerabilities or used it in a production environment yet (only locahost). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Palbin webmaster
Joined: Nov 28, 2007 Posts: 38
|
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Guardian wrote: | Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!works quite well.
You need to use the jQuery API but implementation is basically the same as the JS API except you set the editor instance in a var
Code:
textarea name="editor1" blah blah
var ckeditor = CKEDITOR.replace('editor1');
AjexFileManager.init({
returnTo: 'ckeditor',
editor: ckeditor,
skin: 'light'
});
|
I have not tested for vulnerabilities or used it in a production environment yet (only locahost). |
I agree the quick upload feature even works with it. Just need to add in authentication, but it is written in php so it should be easy. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Palbin
|
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Guardian
|
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 5:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
There should be a text link at the very top left of his site to switch to English (the default is Russian). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nuken webmaster
Joined: Jan 02, 2009 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 12:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here is an open-source alternative of CKFinder...
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!_________________ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Guardian
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 1:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That looks interesting with its "Optional session configuration to integrate in other applications" - I'll have to look at that one, thanks for posting the link. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kguske
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 2:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Haven't looked into the session configuration yet, but functionally, it looks pretty strong. I originally tested several and found problems pretty quickly with most of them. I'll have to put this one through the paces... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nuken
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 3:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Something that is also truly interesting is their css and js joiner.
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kguske
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 4:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Don't have time to look at that - especially since I already looked at other options for optimizing and consolidating CSS and JS...OK, maybe I'll look at that, too, but not until after the CKFinder alternative... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nuken
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 4:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I understand that. I was looking around for ways to compress my js and css when I found them. That fellow has some really cool ideas... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rodsimm Newbie
Joined: May 28, 2010 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 4:21 am Post subject: KCFinder |
|
|
Hi, Thanks I have looked at kcfinder.. very nice. However i have downloaded it and can't get it to work. I am using Vista/Php5/Apache 2. When i try the example code...
<script>
function openKCFinder(field) {
window.KCFinder = {
callBack: function(value) {
document.getElementById(field).value = value;
}
};
window.open('kcfinder-1.4/browse.php', 'kcfinder',
'status=0, toolbar=0, location=0, menubar=0, directories=0, ' +
'resizable=1, scrollbars=0, width=800, height=600'
);
}
</script>
Click on the button to open kcfinder and i can see a window open briefly, it is then replaced with a window saying
"You have chosen to open browser.php.." on local server.
I have tried clearing cache/cookies/adding lines to config files/ and setting htaccess files to php_value engine on.
What is the problem?
I have wasted hours on this problem with out a solution.
Many thanks, Rod |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Guardian
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 5:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Have you tried asking on the KCFinder developers website? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|